My First Product

Standard

After hemorrhaging amounts of brainstorming, I eventually came up with an idea for my first product. Drumroll, please.

Handsewn Pincushion & Sewing Kit

This little guy is a Hand-sewn Pincushion & Sewing Kit. Mind you – he’s only a prototype. The rest of them are going to be a little bigger, because I like to press my pins all the way into the cushion without them poking back out the other side. D:

Anyway, let’s talk about product features. Each pincushion is painstakingly sewn without thimbles or protective gear at extremely gruesome temperatures. Each contains a sewing needle, a spool of thread, several pins, and a few detachable sewing accessories. The one shown above has a button, a bow, some ribbon, and sequins pinned into it that are completely detachable and reusable in case of sewing emergencies. Oh, and there will be sewing emergencies. Let me cut you off here for a short story.

Once upon a few days ago, I woke up late for an interview I had at Staples. I called my mom, and she whisked me away to her house so I could wash my “interview clothes.” But it wasn’t going to work out that easily. Time was running thin, and my shirts were still spin-spinning away in a soapy whirlpool. I found a brown dress in my stepsister’s old room that she wears every month or so when she comes back from university. I managed myself into some itsy-bitsy black skinny jeans that weren’t yet dry from their latest wash, and – lo and behold – my bra snaps. So here I’ve got one strap just hanging down my back, a broken plastic ring, and no safety pins(which I will be including in future emergency sewing kits!). I trifled through my mom’s disorganized sewing bins: nothing. Then I remembered my prototype. Although I disliked it due to its size, that little sucker came in handy, and I had a pretty sturdy stitch finished in under three minutes! This, of course, didn’t change the fact that it was so cold outside and my pants were so damp when I arrived at my destination that my legs were letting off steam. All in all, I think the interview went pretty well. They said they’ll call me within the next two weeks.

Anywho, here he is without accessories:

Naked Pincushion

And here’s a much bigger dude that I gave to my mom for Valentine’s Day. As you can see, I’m a little short on materials at the moment:

Cute and Chubby Pincushion

Thanks for reading, internet. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

