Holiday Papercuts

Standard

In late December, my boyfriend’s brother, Ray, has a birthday. For a few days prior to Christmas, he celebrates Ray Day. During this year’s Ray Day celebration, Brad and I found ourselves at the house of his brother and his fiancee, Lee. We talked and joked and discussed our plans for Christmas 2011. The subject of Christmas eventually turned to talk of Christmas cards.

By this time I had spent nearly the entire month making cards by hand. Unaware of this fact, Ray spoke of how quickly all the cards he received this year would be thrown away. A week into the new year, there is a single card still on display atop Ray and Lee’s Beermeister.

It’s now time to introduce you all to my very first attempt at card-making. I believe a drum-roll is in order…

The first card is an ode to my jerky older brother, Keith.

This was my first hand-stitched card. I found an awesome tutorial for doing this at Freckled Nest!

Have you noticed these bows? Here’s a great DIY to check out on Happybird’s Crafting Haven, if you’re interested.

There’s are plenty of people who don’t give a hoot about cards. Customization is key…

I definitely prefer landscape-cards to portrait ones.

Thanks for looking, internet.

Leave a Reply

