Happy Birthday, Millie! Plus my PDCC#115 Submission

Standard
Happy Birthday, Millie! Plus my PDCC#115 Submission

Last week I discovered a new blog, The Play Date Cafe. Each week The Cafe releases a new challenge and a new advantage to try on a brand new color scheme in your work. This week’s submission is another handmade card, embroidered for my future mother-in-law’s birthday. Check it out.

For this challenge I decided to combine my two biggest obsessions right now – cardmaking and embroidery – and the results were nothing short of my best card yet. In the image above, the card is pictured with two gifts, an iced-tea maker(behind the card) and a bottle of Wind Song, both cleverly wrapped by yours truly.

My favorite part of this project was stitching in the little french knot flowers. This was my very first learning experience with french knots!

The trickiest part was definitely stitching the design onto the leaves of the tree. To make this easier to work with, I had a lamp pointed directly at my face for a couple of hours.

The color palette that this week’s Play Date Cafe Challenge colors were based on was slate, moss, bark, and burlap. How’d I fair this time, internet?

4 responses »

  1. Wow, Shubette! That needlework must’ve truly taken you hours, but it is absolutely gorgeous! And I know that it will be greatly appreciated by your mil. Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  2. Aww, your MIL is sure to love this amazing, heartfelt ensemble! I wish I could embroider. YOur work is beautiful!

    Thanks for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe (and we’re so glad you found us!). Come again soon!

Leave a Reply

