What had happened was…

Standard

Hi there! I’m here today to talk about some setbacks that have occurred that have got me feeling a little low. At the end of June, Brad and I went to Michigan to attend my family reunion. The reunion was a wonderful event and I may have become a little lax in posting to my blog during that weekend. It was remarkably hot the entire trip and the sun was constantly shining. That is, until a very brief rain storm on our way home that caused us to hydroplane. We were driving in the left lane when we started sliding to the right, and then we spun counter-clockwise until the back of the Jeep collided with the median wall.

I remember it happening so slowly, clutching the handle across the dashboard for dear life, my eyes closed tight, braced for impact, thinking Why haven’t we hit yet? It took us forever to hit that wall. Our rear window and the one on the right side in the back were completely smashed out. We also have a very bent axle and lost a few things as we hit and then slid down the median.

Luckily, neither of us were injured and my mom was traveling only a few miles ahead of us when we crashed. We were towed to a place not far from the Toledo airport with a hotel just a short distance up the road. My mom, step-dad, and grandma were waiting there for us when we arrived in the tow truck, but with my niece in the car with them, they only had enough room for one person to come back home with them. Brad and I decided to stay together at the hotel and find our way home the following day. That was an uncomfortable adventure all on its own.

This train of events had left me feeling rather drained and depressed, and I must admit that I neglected my blog for far too long. Eventually, however, one must come to realize that happiness won’t find you if you’re hiding from it under your covers; one finds happiness when she gets off her ass and looks for it herself. Even when your car looks like this and is all the way in Toledo.

I hope you like how I lazily edited out the phone numbers in these photos. It just seemed appropriate to exclude them, I guess. And hey, we found out that the Jeep isn’t totally destroyed. Before we know it, we’ll be back on the road to Toledo to bring her back home. Things are starting to look up, and I’m glad I still managed to get my monthly feature published(despite it being a little late). Thanks for reading, internet.

Leave a Reply

