Birthday Reminiscing

Standard

I can’t believe it’s already the end of July! My favorite month is already slipping away. With a birthday like the 4th of July, it’s easy to get lost in the ever-so-romantic practice of blowing shit up. This year Brad and I stocked up with some really nice fireworks and put on a great Independence Day display for his family. Really, we bought too many fireworks. We’ve been lighting things on fire nearly every day for two months and still have leftovers. That’s me and a sparkler.

All in all, it was a really great birthday, and I even got to have breakfast with my grandma, who was visiting from Michigan. Brad and I then came home to spend the rest of the night with his family, where there was a lovely surprise waiting for me:

What you see here is a crafty birthday cake. This is the prettiest cake anyone has ever made for me, and it was made with extra love and deliciousness by Brad’s mom, Millie. She had originally planned on using the spools of thread around the base of the cake as pillars to support the second tier, but had made a wedding cake too recently and the supplies she would have used hadn’t been returned to her. It’s still by far the coolest crafty button sparkler cake ever.

As soon as it was dark enough to start lighting fuses, it was time for cake.

Warning: Do not blow sparkler sparks at your boyfriend while he’s holding your birthday cake.
Disclaimer: All pictures with me in them throughout this post taken by Alex Meyers.
Leave a Reply

